Tags

, , , ,

Some of you have heard of National Novel Writing Month, or NaNoWriMo as it’s called. Starting November 1st, writers are challenged to write 50,000 words in 30 days. That’s an average of 1,667 words a day. No editing, no research, no worries. Just get the words down on the page. Because, as they say, you can’t edit a blank page.

I’ve participated several times in the November event and more times than that in the spring and summer Camp NaNoWriMo events. I’ve ended up with 4 novellas and two novels out of my NaNo stints. I’m about to get my first historical romance novel written next month.

If you’re a plotter, you still have time to at least get a rough outline done this week. If you’re a pantser, well, have a seat and see where the keys take you!

Here’s a great post by Nathan Bransford http://blog.nathanbransford.com/2014/10/everything-you-need-for-nanowrimo.html

You can sign up at www.nanowrimo.org  Saturday, Nov. 1st, the VWG will be at Hastings HardBack Cafe getting their writing on. If you’d like to join us, you’re more than welcome! 1pm this Saturday.

You can also join in on the sprints and writing prompts on Twitter using the #NaNoWordSprints

Good luck to those embarking on this exciting, frustrating, exhilarating, mind-numbing, I-feel-like-an-accomplished-writer adventure!

~Melanie

You can find me under melmacek if you’d like to add me as a buddy.

